ELN Workflows - LabCollector

Knowledge Base

Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

ELN Workflows

You are here:
← All Topics
SUMMARY:

Why should I use workflows in my ELN?

A workflow is a sequence of connected steps that can be used in a work organization or a process.
Workflows are useful for routine experiments, helping to standardize the writing of experiment reports to increase the quality of lab activities. In the ELN a workflow is related to the Experiment level. 

To set up a workflow template in ELN add-on follow the below steps:-

1. Create the workflow 

2. Apply workflow to pages.

1. Create the workflow 

  • From the ADMIN menu, users (depending on their permission level) can add/edit workflow by combining several pages (blank pages and/or templates) that will be applied in an experiment.
  • In order to create a report, you need to go to ELN ADD-ON -> ADMIN -> WORKFLOW -> VIEW / EDIT WORKFLOW.

  • NOTE: Before editing workflow, you need to define page templates if needed (see KB-ELN Templates).
  • To create a workflow, click on Add Workflow on the top right

 

  • 1. Give it a name. For example, we have created a workflow template for a PCR reaction.
  • 2. You can add instructions for the user or description that you require. 
  • 3. Here you can list tasks corresponding to the process. Name the task, add a comment if needed, then click on Add item. These tasks will be like the heading or steps for your entire workflow. Adding duration will make the workflow process more efficient especially in institutes that charge the clients according to the hour.
  • 4. Here you choose the number of pages/steps describing your workflow and validate it.
        – If you want to associate a template to a page, choose from the dropdown.
        – Default Template gives a “blank” page.
        – For each page, you can request admin validation.
        – If you check YES, the user can’t create the next page until an administrator validates the page.
    NOTE

     NOTE: While adding the pages in this section always keep extra of 1 or 2 pages in your workflow with the default template. This will allow you NOT to be blocked by the number of pages if needed.

     

  • 5. Workflows can request general admin validation. If you check YES, the user can’t close a page. Only after another administrator has validated the page, then the page can be closed. If NO then the user can close the page him/herself. *Keep in mind that after closing the page you will not be able to edit it.
  • 6. Once you are done editing/creating the workflow, click on “Submit” to save the template.

2. Apply workflow to pages

  • To apply the workflow to a page, choose or create the book /project that you need.
  • Create the experiment inside the book. When you do so, the “Add new experiment pop-up will ask you to choose the workflow template.
    For example. like below:-

  • Once you have selected the desired workflow template click on submit.
  • You Experiment page will look like below for example:-

  • You will be able to see the workflow name, instructions, a number of pages, and validation requirements in the “workflow description” section.
  • Under the tasks list, you will be able to see the different steps of the workflow.
    – The task list will show 4 option:-
    this option allows you to add the “Child task”. This means that if the main task is the parent task you can add a sub-task that will be a child task. For example, if the parent task is the preparation of solutions. You can add sub-tasks (child tasks) by creating the name of each solution, for example for PCR reactions like master mix buffer, dNTP mixture, etc.
    Once you finish the task you can click on this option to show that the particular task has been completed. Once you click on this option all the edit options will no more be available. For example, as below:
       
    this option allows you to edit the task. You can add information about the task like, the start timing, duration completed, the percentage of the task completed, the page if any, the user who is performing the task. Once you save the details the task will look like below for example when you open it:

    This option will allow you to delete the task if needed.

Related topics: